Soul Train Awards 2013

The 2013 Soul Train Awards, which aired Sunday night on BET and Centric, was hosted by Anthony Anderson, proved to be an eventful and celebratory evening of today’s R&B/Soul stars and the legends of the past. In addition to some riveting live performances and tributes, the night saw awards go to many deserving nominees.

They include:

Best New Artist – K. Michelle

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist – Miguel

Centric Certified Award – Luke James

Video of the Year – Janelle Monae ft. Erykah Badu (Alan Ferguson) – “Q.U.E.E.N.”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance – Tye Tribbett – “If He Did It Before…Same God”

Album of the Year – Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid, M.A.A.D. City

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year – Wale ft. Tiara Thomas – “Bad”

The Chaka Khan Award for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist – Tamar Braxton

Song of the Year – Robin Thicke ft. Pharell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award – Tamar Braxton – “Love & War”

Best Dance Performance – Ciara – “Body Party”

Best Collaboration – Robin Thicke ft. Pharell & T.I. – “Blurred Lines”

Best International Performance – Bunji Garlin – “Differentology”

Best Traditional Jazz Performance – Nicole Henry – “Waiting in Vain”

Best Contemporary Jazz Performance – George Duke – “Missing You”

Best Independent R&B Soul Performance – Ashanti – “Never Should Have”

Best Entertainment/Music Website or Blog:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s